

NOTICE OF RACE





2020 Prince Philip Cup (PPC) Regatta

(Australasian Championship)

2020 Ted Albert Memorial (TAM) Regatta

4 January to 11 January 2020 Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania SANDY BAY, TASMANIA

1. Rules

The regatta will be governed by the *rules* as defined in *The Racing Rules of Sailing*.

2. Organising Authority

The Organising Authority for the Regatta is the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania.

3. Advertising

Boats may be required to display advertising chosen and supplied by the Organising Authority.

4. Eligibility and Entry

- 4.1. The regattas are open to all boats of the International Dragon Class.
- 4.2. Eligible boats may enter by completing the on-line registration at http://www.ryct.org.au by 5:00pm AEDT on Friday December 6th, 2019.
- 4.3. Late entries may be accepted at the discretion of the Organising Authority.
- 4.4. The following documents must be submitted at Registration:
 - A full copy of the Dragon Measurement Certificate.
 - A sail list comprising up to eight sails to be used in the PPC and TAM Regattas, including sail type, manufacturer and sail label number. All sails shall be submitted for checking.
 - An insurance certificate showing third party insurance cover to a minimum of \$10 million AUD.
- 4.5 The total crew weight of the combined crew of each yacht must not exceed 285 kilograms. Crews will be required to weigh in during Registration on 4/5 January 2020.

5. Fees

5.1 The Entry Fee is AUD750 (inclusive of GST) for a three person crew and AUD850 (inclusive of GST) for a four person crew. The entry fee includes:

Race entry

For each crew member:

- a. Ticket for the Welcome Cocktail Party
- b. Ticket for the Prize Giving Dinner (food only, drinks at Bar prices)
- 5.2. Late entry fee is an additional AUD100 (inclusive of GST)

6. Schedule

Date	Time	Event	No. races scheduled
Saturday 4/1/2020	0900-1700	Registration and measurement	
Sunday 5/1/2020	0900-1700	Registration and measurement	
Monday 6/1/2020	1100	TAM warning signal first race of the day	3
Tuesday 7/1/2020	1300	PPC warning signal first race of the day	2
Wednesday 8/1/2020	1300	PPC warning signal first race of the day	2
Thursday 9/1/2020		Reserve Day	
Friday 10/1/2020	1300	PPC warning signal first race of the day	2
Saturday 11/1/2020	1200	PPC warning signal first race of the day	2

On January 6 & 11 no warning signal will be made after 1500.

7. Sailing Instructions

Sailing Instructions will be available at Registration.

8. Venue

The Racing Area will be on the River Derwent east of RYCT.

9. Courses

The courses to be sailed will be windward - leeward as described in the Sailing Instructions.

10. Penalty System

Rule 44.1 is changed so that the Two-Turns Penalty is replaced by the One-Turn Penalty when the infraction occurs outside the Zone as defined in the RRS.

11. Scoring

Ted Albert Memorial regatta

One race is required to be completed to constitute a series.

A boat's series score will be the total of her race scores.

Prince Philip Cup regatta

Five races are required to be completed to constitute a series, with a maximum of eight races.

12. Diving Equipment and Plastic Pools

Underwater breathing apparatus and plastic pools or their equivalent shall not be used around boats between the preparatory signal of the first race and the end of the regatta.

13. Radio Communication

All boats must carry a marine band VHF radio capable of receiving and transmitting. Except in an emergency, a boat shall neither make radio or data transmissions while racing, nor receive radio or data communication not available to all boats. This restriction also applies to mobile telephones.

Except in an emergency, the use of mobile phones or any device capable of sending and/or receiving external electronic communication and/or connecting to the internet is prohibited after the first warning signal on each race day until the boat has completed its day's racing.

14. Prizes

Perpetual Trophies will be awarded as follows:

The Prince Philip Cup will be awarded to the winner of the Australasian Championship.

The Charles E Davies Memorial Trophy will be awarded to the winner of the final race sailed in the Ted Albert Memorial Regatta.

The Ted Albert Memorial Trophy will be awarded to the winner of the three race series comprising the Ted Albert Memorial Regatta.

The Jack Linacre Memorial Trophy will be awarded to the winner of the first race of the Prince Philip Cup.

The Jack Ayers/Ediss Boyes Trophy will be awarded to the first wooden yacht overall in the Prince Philip Cup

15. Disclaimer of Liability

Competitors participate in the Regattas entirely at their own risk – see rule 4, Decision to Race, which states; "The responsibility for a boat's decision to participate in a race or to continue racing is hers alone". The Organising Authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during. Or after the regattas.

16. Insurance

All competing yachts are required to have current Third Party Property Liability Insurance and Third Party Personal Liability cover of not less than \$10,000,000.00 AUD (10 million) or the equivalent thereof in any other currency for any one incident.

17. Rights to Use Name and Likeness

In participating in an event, a competitor automatically grants to the Organising Authority and the sponsors of the event, the right in perpetuity, to make, use and show, from time to time and at their discretion, any motion pictures, still pictures and live, taped or filmed television and other reproductions of him/her during the period of the competition in these events event in which the competitor participates and in all material related to the events without compensation.

18. Further Information

TIDA David Vaudrey
RYCT Sailing Operations Manager Nick Hutton

<u>David.Vaudrey@bigpond.com</u> <u>sailing@ryct.org.au</u>

Racing Area

